Skip to content ↓

About us/Amdanom ni


The Bridge Achievement Centre is a pupil referral unit that serves the Newport City area. 

Learners are referred to us by primary and secondary schools or by the Local Authority. We offer mainly short term provision for learners who may be struggling in school due to a range of additional learning needs, social, emotional or behavioural difficulties.  Where possible, we aim to support them in successful transitions back into school.

Our provision

Whilst our main KS3 and KS4 base is in Stephenson Street, the Bridge Achievement Centre is a multi-site provision with four different venues across the city.  This enables us to offer an even more bespoke experience to our learners, some of whom may also access vocational programmes with alternative providers.  Each site provides support for learners with differing needs and pupils are therefore carefully assessed before accessing each provision.

Message from the Centre Manager - Amanda Veater

Amanda Veater

Children and young people and their learning experiences are at the heart of what we do, and we are incredibly proud of them.  Each and every day we work at developing positive relationships and essential skills in order to create ambitious, capable learners.  We have high expectations of all our learners, and we develop their confidence and independence through highly individualised learning plans that are created by their teachers and teaching assistants just for them.  We develop a range of conventional skills, such as literacy and numeracy, but we also engage our learners in daily practice of skills for life, such as social communication. We expect our learners to achieve recognised qualifications in a full range of skills and subjects, and we support them in finding positive post 16 destinations.  

Learner wellbeing is extremely important to us, and we work closely with a range of other services to ensure that learners and their families are safeguarded and able to access any support they may need. 

Estyn report March 2022: Teachers and support staff know the needs and abilities of their pupils extremely well and respond respectfully and sensitively to pupils’ needs.

The strong working relationship between staff and pupils contributes positively to how well pupils respond to feedback. This impacts positively on pupils’ progress, motivation and well-being.

Our shared Mission, Vision and Values

Mission : Achievement, resilience and wellbeing for all.

Vision : Our vision is to provide an outstanding education provision for all.  We aim to support the needs of all pupils by offering a safe, supportive and nurturing environment, which encourages a diverse range of bespoke learning experiences to enable pupils to reach their full potential.

Values : The Bridge Achievement Centre's values are underpinned by a belief in the following principles:

  1. Aspiration

  2. Equity

  3. Respect

Bridge Achievement Centre - Meet our team!

Senior Leadership Team

Amanda Veater : Manager
Kathryn Bailey : Deputy Manager
Katharine Thomas : Senior Teacher

Lauren James : Senior Teacher
Justin Dowd : Safeguarding Lead & ALNCo

Teaching Staff

Aimee Cook : Key stage 3 & 4 teacher
Martyn Groves : Key stage 3 & 4 teacher
John Williams : Key stage 3 & 4 teacher
Emily Morton : Wellbeing Hub teacher
Victoria Forward : Key stage 3 & 4 teacher
Matthew Prewett : Key stage 2, 3 & 4 teacher

Melissa Smith : Key stage 3 & 4 teacher
Linda Clayton : Home Tutor
Dean Lewis : HLTA

Support Staff

Tracey Miller : Learning Coach
Craig Hawkins : Administrator
Vicki Nightingale : Administrator
Melissa Riley : Teaching assistant
Laura Riley : Teaching assistant
Chantelle Monde‚Äč : Teaching assistant
Sonia Clarke : Teaching assistant
Andrea Makepeace‚Äč : Teaching assistant
Graham Maher : Teaching assistant
Chelsea Simmonds : Teaching assistant

Site manager : Dan Cromwell

Management Committee

David Jackson : Chair of management committee
Nicola Davies : Vice chair
Katy Rees: Community representative
Vacancy: Community representative
Adam Savigar: Parent representative
Stephen Marshall: LA representative
Amanda Veater: Staff representative
Kathryn Bailey: Staff representative